Reviews

Manitoba Hemp Hearts Review


My hemp hearts seeds have finally arrived! For some reason mine took absolutely forever to get here, arriving just a few days before the contest ends. No matter, they are here now and I’m thrilled to review this yummy little seeds.

image

Hemp hearts are little seeds created by Manitoba Harvest. Hemp has many uses such as food, clothing, paper, building materials, rope, animal bedding and more. Manitoba Harvest, however focuses on the food aspect of the seeds. While the seeds are part of the Cannabis sativa species, you will not get high from them. The THC content is 0.001% so you will not get a false positive reading if you have to do a drug test.

image

The first time I used them, was in my cranberry oatmeal for breakfast. It came out delicious! I only used a tablespoon of them as the package I have is small and I want to make sure I get several uses out of it. Even so, you still taste slightly nutty flavor of them.

Cranberry Oatmeal

image

To make this delicious oatmeal, you’ll need dried cranberries, rolled oats, butter, hemp hearts seeds, milk and cinnamon.

1 cup rolled oats
1 tbsp hemp hearts seeds
1/2 cup dried cranberries
1 tsp butter
1 cup milk
1/2 tsp ground cinnamon

Mix everything together, and then microwave for a minute and a half. Stir everything together well and then microwave for another minute and a half. Give one final stir and enjoy!

image

So, the serving size for these is around 2 tablespoons or 30 grams, one to two times a day. Each serving has 10 grams of protein 10 grams and 10 grams of omega 3 & 6. They contain 90% soluble fiber and 10% insoluble fiber. You get different times for how you store these. 8 weeks on the counter, or the best before date if you put them in the fridge.

I personally may stick to 1 tablespoon, yes, it will cut the nutrition aspects in half, but I get protein from other sources so I won’t worry about that. Since I am on a budget is the most economical solution for me. Their prices range from $9 to $50, depending on which size a package you get of the seeds. They also sell hemp oil as well as hemp protein powder for those that are interested.

My next recipe is a quick kale salad using red and green leaf lettuce, kale, seeds and tomatoes.

Kale Hearty Salad

image

1/2 cup red and green leaf lettuce
1/2 cup kale
1 small to medium sized tomato
Dressing of choice (Catalina for me)
1 tsp hemp heart seeds
1-2 dashes of salt and pepper

It’s absolutely delicious, and perfect for a light lunch. Again, the seeds provide a nice subtle flavoring. Feel free to use any greens, veggies or fruits you desire. The amazing thing about these little seeds is the flavor, so subtle you can add them literally to everything. You still get that extra boost of protein and omegas each time you add them into something.

My final recipe is a smoothie! I haven’t done one of these in what seems like ages. This in combination with the salad, definitely gives you a healthy dose of fruits and vegetables, which is something everybody could use more of right?

Hearty Fruity Smoothie

image

1/3 cup red seedless grapes
1/3 cup strawberries
1/3 cherries
1/2 milk
1/2 cups water
3-4 Stevia leaves
1 tsp ground cinnamon

Although I received these seeds as part of a Fit Approach #sweatpink campaign in partnership with @Manitobaharvest, the opinions stated are my own as are the recipes. I am NOT being compensated for my opinions, or for putting up this review.

You may be able to get them in stores, I do know for a fact you can order them from their Manitoba Harvest website. Have a lovely evening!

Posted from Fitty Duck on the go!

1 thought on “Manitoba Hemp Hearts Review”

So? What did you think? Tell me your thoughts below!

