My Life

Physical therapy Session One


I finally called and setup an appointment with a physical therapist to get my left knee squared away. My first appointment was Wednesday and I wasn’t sure what to expect with it so I was a little nervous. Fortunately, the staff was very kind and understanding of the nerves which helped me relax for the time being.


We went into a room with an exam bed and I gave him the rundown on the knee. I fell down concrete stairs (the whole flight of course) when I was 8 that most likely fractured my tibia. Since I seemed fine after everything we didn’t bother with a doctor because within an hour I was back to running around. However it did leave this…

image

That lump is a calcium deposit from my bone repairing itself to its abilities. As long as I don’t bump it I am good, that leads to teeth gritting pain.

Fast forward to 2010 I have just started college and am using their elliptical when I lose my momentum and it catches, both the elliptical and my knee. The pain was immediate and felt like a poker went through the joint. After one last bouldering attempt, an MRI, and several days of swelling and ugly crying the doctor went in to repair the damage. I had articular cartilage floating around in there having a little party and a pretty good meniscal tear.

In the post-op check he explained the moves to do from a print out and cleared me for my normal rigorous activities within the month.

By now the physical therapist is shaking his head saying that I should have been put into PT immediately after my follow up. Because I wasn’t, my knee never fully healed or regained the strength it needs to keep up with my activities.

As it is right now my left knee has half the strength of my right and stability issues due to the weak quad and the constant favoring I do. For the time being I can’t do Burpees, trail running or most  plyometrics as the knee can’t take it.

The goal is to get me back to all of my activities including bouldering but right now I have to do PT 3x a week for 6 weeks and see if my knee is better or worse. Or worse means another MRI & surgery.

I won’t lie, the session really bummed me out and hurt a bit, I’ve never really done isolating exercises because I know it hurts! Afterwards, I was introduced to this awesome therapy using ultrasounds & ice packs. Felt Amazing!

image

 

I still have many sessions to go, if I fail the PT then there will likely be a surgery in my future, if not then no surgery! I really don’t care either way at this point, I just want it fixed so I can get back to all the things I love.

Have you ever had PT? What for? What was the outcome?

So? What did you think? Tell me your thoughts below!

