Berry Nana Madness
Smoothies

Morning Dash or: The Love of Two Smoothies & Why I Made Them in the Bathroom.


 

Yesterday morning was crazy busy with me up at 3:45 a.m. to get ready for work.  I had been contemplating making two smoothies for both my breakfast and lunch for the day’s 12 hour shift. Seriously, it was my last conscious thought the previous night

 

Well, at 4 o’clock in the morning the house is usually still asleep, and that blender that I love so much, sounds like a rocket going off. This is a problem. How am I supposed to get my smoothies for breakfast and lunch? To the bathroom I go!

I ended up running in and out of the bathroom for the first smoothie then just said screw it, and brought everything in for the second one. I discovered a neat little trick! If you wrap a towel around the base, it works to muffle the sound a little bit. Yes it is still loud, but it’s more of a dull roar instead of buzz that rattles your spine.

 

First smoothie is a berry nana madness. Now, I had previously frozen my blueberries, blackberries, and bananas separately then put them into one ziplock. The amounts shown are kind of an estimate.

2 cups of the fruit blend.

Generous amount of nutmeg and cinnamon. (Mine are in grinders and I grind to my heart’s content)

1 large tablespoon of chia seeds.

1 ½ cups water

Berry Nana Madness
Berry Nana Madness

The blender only makes one 12 ounce serving at a time so I ended up making a second batch minus the chia seeds with only one cup of the fruit blends. This was enough to top off my large Robeks cup.

Smoothie #2 Strawberry Pineapple Sunrise

Again, I ended up making two batches. This one however was for my thermos. My strawberries and pineapple are in the same bag, frozen separately like the fruit from the first smoothie. So this number is also an estimate.

2 cup frozen strawberries and pineapple

Again keep generous amount of cinnamon and nutmeg…they go in everything!

1 cup of flaxseed.

1 ½ cups water.

Since this is for a large thermos (one of the tall narrow canisters ~24 oz) I made two batches but left out the flaxseed in the second one.

Strawberry Pineapple Sunrise
Strawberry Pineapple Sunrise

 

Note: for these smoothies or any really, feel free to add in a little bit of sweetener (whatever you prefer) if you find the original to be a bit strong.

Choco-coffee
Choco-coffee

 

Off topic: one of our medics at work introduced me to adding chocolate milk to my coffee. The station was out of sugar & I was bummed so she let me add in some of her chocolate milk. Amazing! If you are out of chocolate milk then chocolate syrup works just as well. Do NOT use cocoa powder. Results are…not good.

 

So tell me, have you ever prepped smoothies for later on in the day? Have you ever tried chocolate milk in your coffee? Feel free to tell me in the comments below! Enjoy and have a great Friday!

2 thoughts on “Morning Dash or: The Love of Two Smoothies & Why I Made Them in the Bathroom.”

  1. Yum! The smoothie looks delicious. I’ve made them before, the big thing right now is we have a tiny kitchen and getting the blender out is a hassle haha, but once we get a house (hopefully before the end of summer), I’m hoping to start up again. The thing that helped me keep on track with preparation is storing as much of my ingredients in a single baggy in the fridge already portioned out, so all I have to do is toss them in with yogurt. I need things like that easy or else I get lazy/forget haha

    Like

    1. That is a great idea for portioning out the ingredients in advance. I keep my fruits in the freezer that way when I go to blend, it’s icy cold without needing ice. 🙂 I’ll have to get some smaller freezer bags! I hope you are able to get your house soon, keep me posted!

      Like

So? What did you think? Tell me your thoughts below!

